Scribbling: Why write? Why paint? Why create?

On February 1st, 2015, I started this blog and have made a commitment to myself to write for it every week to stretch my writing muscles.

Why?

  • Because a blog is like a journal or diary, and it keeps me focusing on my present thoughts
  • A blog is a way to share my opinions, ideas, and personal journey with the world
  • Because internet enables communication with diverse people from anywhere
  • As I travel a lot, and this is a good way for people to stay connected with me
  • Because I miss writing for myself, rather than work or school
  • My blogging routine adds some order to my chaotic life
  • Because like-minded people can connect with me
  • And I really just enjoy creating

I have only been blogging for three months (as of Friday – May Day!), and I have really enjoyed easing back into writing. I like to change things up and write about different topics and that keeps me on my toes. I am actively thinking and engaging with my creativity.

In my sixth blog post, “Scribbling: Reflecting on my own Writing”, shared on March 8th 2015, I wrote about editing my own work, why I think self-reflection is a really important part of change and growth, and working with editors to make sure that grammar errors are caught, my ideas are explained in an accessible way, and that my writing is open to multiple-perspectives.

In this way, I think that my writing is actually a reason that I connect with friends and family – I get their perspective on my thoughts and often they help me to rework my writing so that it is more open, explains my ideas better, reaches a wider audience, and is both friendly and respectful. I value these meaningful conversations with them about my creations.

Speaking of creations… I am easing back into being a writer, and I have been easing back into painting for over a year as well. I love painting, but after secondary school art classes, University swallowed all my free time and I fell out of touch with it. I started painting again in 2013 after I graduated with my honours degree and I have been regularly cranking out paintings for my family, friends and host families for Christmas, birthdays, and other special occasions. I actually do not keep my paintings as I prefer giving them away. I love creating something special and unique for someone I love, it feels great when I am painting and I love their excitement when they open their personalized homemade gifts.

I paint and write because I feel free and happy while I am creating. I love challenging myself to craft something for someone else, myself, or both. Creating is a way for me to keep in touch with myself, people I know and love, and the entire world.

What do you think? Does creativity keep you communicating? Or are creativity and communication completely separate for you? Leave me a comment, I’d love to chat about it!

If you liked this wee blog post about creativity, you may enjoy my second blog post “Sunshine: My Positive Attitude” about positivity, my eleventh blog post “Silliness: Reclaiming Silly”, or the aforementioned “Scribbling : Reflecting on my own Writing”.

Thanks for dropping in!

One thought on “Scribbling: Why write? Why paint? Why create?

  1. Pingback: School: On Assumptions about Teaching and Teachers | Sunflower Symposium

Leave a Reply?

